Repeat Business

Business By chef020602 Updated 22 Mar 2015 , 9:55pm by indydebi

chef020602 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chef020602 Posted 21 Mar 2015 , 1:45am
post #1 of 7

I have been decorating for several years and have always had huge compliments on the flavor of the cake, icing and love the how the cake was decorated.  I know I am not over charging, in fact, I think I am actually under charging, but not by a whole lot to make it appear that I don't have confidence in my creation.

My issue is getting customers to return.  I have a few that return, however, some will order a couple and then I do not hear from them again.  I have even offered to deliver cakes within a 10-15 mile radius and not charge so I can make sure I get return business...sometimes that works and sometimes it doesn't!

Does anyone else have this problem, if so, what can I do to get my customers to continue returning?

Please help with any suggestions you make have, it would be greatly appreciated!

6 replies
lucy_23409 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lucy_23409 Posted 21 Mar 2015 , 4:20pm
post #2 of 7

It can be hard to keep customers loyal at the moment.  I think they are always looking for the best deal.  Perhaps you could create a loyalty card where the customer gets a discount off their 3rd and 6th cake? 

Maybe a little note card in the cake box that says Thank you for choosing your business to make the celebration cake, why your business is so special, why your cakes are super, why the customer should choose you and not the competitor. 

Let your passion for your cakes really shine on the card!

julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 21 Mar 2015 , 6:49pm
post #3 of 7

As I do lots of birthday cakes, I have many customers returning. I hardly ever deliver a cake and if so, I definitely charge for it.

I'm by far not a pro and it's more a hobby than a business like yours, but I have made enough cakes for enough customers to understand what you mean.