Wedding Cake Piping

Decorating By cowgirltj06 Updated 12 Feb 2015 , 5:02pm by MEGroverIII

cowgirltj06 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cowgirltj06 Posted 11 Feb 2015 , 4:26pm
post #1 of 13

Hey Everyone,

I am a beginner in the art of piping. I had a bride request a quote on the cake pictured below. I am wondering if the piping is actually chocolate on this cake seeing how it stands up over the top tier. Also, any tricks to practice or perfect this type of piping? Do you make indentations first to give you a form of a guide? Is this something I should do on wax paper and then apply to the cake?

Any help or guidance is appreciated!

12 replies
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 11 Feb 2015 , 6:25pm
post #2 of 13

AWell, I'm far not an expert in piping too and to be honest I would be mortified to take on a wedding cake looking like this and not being sure I could pull it off. I hope for you (and the bride!) that you gonna practice practice practice alot beforehand. No offense though, and am sure you'll manage. Just meant as advice...

cowgirltj06 Posted 11 Feb 2015 , 6:50pm
post #3 of 13

The sort of waffle pattern I have done before for on a sheet cake- it's not hard, just time consuming. And I was able to do that piping in frosting- but for a wedding cake it will need to be more sturdy since it is on the side- probably with RI. Some of the other patterns are petal shaped, again not a huge deal. I definitely think I'm capable, but if anyone has any tricks to make it easier on me, I'm all ears!

winniemog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
winniemog Posted 11 Feb 2015 , 7:00pm
post #4 of 13