How Much Should I Charge?

Decorating By raizelmercedes Updated 27 Jan 2015 , 5:16am by julia1812

raizelmercedes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
raizelmercedes Posted 24 Jan 2015 , 3:43pm
post #1 of 14

Hello cake friends!

I am new to this site and to cake decorating!  I was wondering if you all would give me your input...

I've been making cakes for my family for about a year now.  I just starting doing it because it's so much fun, but people have been asking my sisters if I would sell them.  I was just wondering how/what I should charge.  I wouldn't want to charge too much, as I am still learning, however I would want to make it worth my time.  (I teach part time, work at a restaurant and I am still going to grad school and am barely paying the bills!) Anyhow, any and all input would be much appreciated! I've attached a picture below so you get an idea of my work.

Thank you :)

13 replies
Jedi Knight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jedi Knight Posted 24 Jan 2015 , 4:34pm
post #2 of 14

AHow many portions?

Have you added up all of your costs, including overhead, all ingredients, and non-edibles (boards, boxes, supports, etc)?

How much time did this project take?

crumbcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crumbcake Posted 24 Jan 2015 , 4:39pm
post #3 of 14

AI've read on blog they charge 3times the cost of ingredients to make the cake

craftybanana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
craftybanana Posted 24 Jan 2015 , 5:16pm
post #4 of 14