Spreadsheet For Cake Pricing.

Business By BecsBakehouse Updated 20 Jan 2015 , 12:00pm by Magic Mouthfuls

BecsBakehouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BecsBakehouse Posted 15 Jan 2015 , 5:25am
post #1 of 3

Can anyone recommend an easy to use spreadsheet that i can use to price up my cake quotes.

I am new to the cake biz and fear that i am way undercharging. I'm in Brisbane Australia

I have recently quoted a 2 tier ruffle cake at $380 about $4.40 a serving. Does this sound about right?

2 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 15 Jan 2015 , 4:48pm
post #2 of 3

I don't know about Australian pricing, but I use an excel spreadsheet for tracking costs and retail pricing.

Magic Mouthfuls Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Magic Mouthfuls Posted 20 Jan 2015 , 12:00pm
post #3 of 3

$380 - $4.40 per serve = 86 serves.  Sounds too cheap to me for Aussie dollars.  That's a USA price.  Was it buttercream or fondant ruffles?

Google some cake decorators in Brissy and look for those that list their pricing.  It should give you a good indication of market price.  I'd expect not as high as Sydney, but city pricing should be up there.

I made a basic spreadsheet for myself on Excel.  Recipe ingredients, qty, pkt qty, retail price = cost of ingredient, cost of boards, boxes, ribbon etc.  Then add estimate for hours x $hourly rate (in Aust no less than $20-$25 as per pastry chef award), an educated guesstimate on utility value, then add some profit.

Small cakes come in around $10-20 per serve, mid size like 86 serves about $8 per serve.  Its not till I get to the bigger 150+ serves that the price comes down to the $5 mark.