Customer Wanting To Drive Wedding Cake To Fl?

Business By livin4ever Updated 9 Jan 2015 , 3:05am by leah_s

livin4ever Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
livin4ever Posted 8 Jan 2015 , 11:45pm
post #1 of 5

A customer contacted me about doing a small Dr. Who themed wedding cake. I've never done a wedding cake before, just birthday and baby shower cakes, but I agreed to do it since it is small and simple. After getting all the details arranged, she tells me she is going to be getting it 3 days before the wedding and driving it up to FL for the wedding (I'm in GA, so Fl is a good drive from here). She wants me to freeze it for the drive up there, but I'm worried about it not thawing properly or just collapsing entirely during the drive and also about the cake being dry since it will be made 3 days before the event. I'm starting to wounder if I should just tell her I can't do it? Has anyone ever handled a situation like this? Any tips? Just looking for imput please :-) Thanks!

4 replies
jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 9 Jan 2015 , 12:17am
post #2 of 5

It can be done.  I made and froze a small fondant wedding cake and a little larger bc graduation cake and drove from Texas to California.  However, there are some precautions and your customer has to take some responsibility here.

First of all, unless those are tiny tiers, this isn't that small a cake.  But that's not really the concern here.  As long as you're confident you can do it, you can do it.  Freezing won't dry out a cake like refrigerating does as long as it's wrapped properly.

It is possible to wrap and freeze the cake already assembled, provided you have the freezer space.  I don't freeze multi-tier cakes assembled so I can't really speak from experience on that one.