Tips On Time Management

Business By bakeforfun21 Updated 6 Jan 2015 , 7:18pm by cookiemum123

bakeforfun21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakeforfun21 Posted 29 Dec 2014 , 4:34pm
post #1 of 25

I am still pretty new at cake decorating. I have a part time job, a 2 year old, and I am a full time student. I try to do cake decorating on the side but everytime I get an order that I have to deliver I am late. Every. Single. Time. Does anyone have any tips on time management so that I can get it all done and not be late? 

24 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 29 Dec 2014 , 4:51pm
post #2 of 25

the easy answer is -- give yourself twice as much time as you think you need -- if you're late again give yourself three times as much time --

the in depth answer -- when i decorate a cake it takes me much less time than does the baking and assembly because of my experience -- most new cakers -- like i was way back when -- take eons of time to do every part of a cake especially the decorating because they get lost in the right side of the brain, the creative side where time does not exist -- so set a timer for 10 minutes, when it goes off set it again and again and gauge your progress while establishing mini goals all the way through your process so that you can operate in the creative side and still keep a toe hold on reality aka on the minutes ticking by --

the right side of the brain is also non-verbal -- ever say 'you are lost in thought' ever have someone speak to you while you're doing a cake and you don't answer them -- you're in the right side of your brain and your brain switches you back to the left side to answer --

a good book on this is "drawing on the right side of the brain" by betty edwards -- there's a you tube video on it and a lot of helps online as well

bakeforfun21 Posted 29 Dec 2014 , 4:54pm
post #3 of 25

Quote:

Originally Posted by -K8memphis