Fondant On An Ice Cream Cake?

Decorating By terrybaz Updated 5 Dec 2014 , 2:06am by ConfectioneryH

terrybaz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrybaz Posted 4 Dec 2014 , 2:00am
post #1 of 10

Hi everyone,

I'm making an ice cream cake for a birthday party. The top layer of cake has the middle cut out and filled with ice cream. The cake would look nicer if I used a fondant covering but the cake will need to be kept cold and the ice cream will chill the fondant from the underside. I'm planning to put it together the day of the party and covering first with buttercream then fondant.  Do you think I'm tempting fate? I could just do the decorations with fondant but I really want that smooth look.

Oh, I'm fairly new to fondant so no expert eye to recover from problems that may develop : )

Thanks in advance,

9 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 4 Dec 2014 , 2:14am
post #2 of 10

Aomg fcndanting an ice cream cake sounds like sheer mind blowing torture to me and you're a novice?

terrybaz Posted 4 Dec 2014 , 2:27am
post #3 of 10

Lol, so you say no? The decorations would be ok though, wouldn't they?

mcaulir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcaulir Posted 4 Dec 2014 , 2:41am
post #4 of 10

How humid is the weather where you live?

terrybaz Posted 4 Dec 2014 , 2:53am
post #5 of 10

I'm in Phoenix so, very dry.

mcaulir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcaulir Posted 4 Dec 2014 , 3:09am
post #6 of 10

It might be OK, then. Humidity is what hurts fondant coming out of the fridge.

But I think I'd just use buttercream and fondant decorations, to be on the safe side.

terrybaz Posted 4 Dec 2014 , 3:41am
post #7 of 10

Yeah, sounds like I should wait until I have more experience with fondant.

Thank you both for your help!

winniemog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
winniemog Posted 4 Dec 2014 , 7:04am
post #8 of 10