Airbrushing Beginner In Ontario, Canada

Decorating By cakebear Updated 15 Dec 2014 , 11:16am by sweetassugarcak

cakebear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebear Posted 28 Nov 2014 , 2:54pm
post #1 of 4

I am interested in adding Airbrushing to my cake decorating.

I am just starting to learn about this and wondering what to get.  I don't want to spend a crazy amount of money but also don't want to pay for something that is not going to work.  I say one by Duff that is around $160.00 

Have no idea what to look for and what to get.

Advice is needed

Thanks

3 replies
MsGF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MsGF Posted 29 Nov 2014 , 1:08pm
post #2 of 4

I just bought this kit and the beginner set of colours.   I love it.

http://www.flourconfections.com/airbrush-starter-kit-includes-colours-p-2492.html

http://www.flourconfections.com/iwata-portable-airbrush-kit-p-4373.html

I looked at the Duff one, but was iffy about the quality.  This one I can get replacement parts for and an upgraded compressor if I feel I need it.

It was a good price and a good little machine.  I practiced on paper with it to get the hang of it.  

It's a good starting kit.  Hope that helps.

kkmcmahan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kkmcmahan Posted 29 Nov 2014 , 2:00pm
post #3 of 4

Craftsy has a class on airbrushing that you might want to consider.  It starts out explaining the different types of airbrushes.  Wish I had seen it before I bought mine; although it is fine, after viewing the class I would have gone for a different one.

sweetassugarcak Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetassugarcak Posted 15 Dec 2014 , 11:16am
post #4 of 4