Help With This Cake?

Decorating By storestore Updated 1 Dec 2014 , 8:08pm by ropalma

storestore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
storestore Posted 10 Nov 2014 , 2:19pm
post #1 of 14

I'm still new to the cake business and I'm looking for advice on a cake before I come up with a quote for this customer. It's for a restaurant's Christmas party, it's supposed to feed 40 people and she wants it to look like the restaurant itself. I've attached the picture below. Using the wilton chart I came up with this: TWO 4x4x4 cakes beside each other for the lounge and a 10x10x4 for the restaurant part. I realize that usually party cakes are only a single layer but I just didn't think it would look good in a single layer. Any thoughts? Now, how would you go about decorating this. I thought I'd add a full layer of red fondant first and build out from there. I've never used modeling chocolate. Would that be a good idea for this project? The venue is WARM! It always is warm in there.

http://www.cranesteel.com/pictures/red_barn_restaurant-1.jpg

13 replies
MissCuteCupcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissCuteCupcakes Posted 10 Nov 2014 , 7:28pm
post #2 of 14

The cake sizes you chose seem like a great idea. You can even use 6x6 instead of the 4x4.

I think you should do a double layer and not a single layer, especially because the restaurant part has a curved design so you would need to do some cutting on the 10x10 to acheieve the desired look.

As for the modeling chocolate, I'm not sure because I never worked with it. So maybe someone can chime in and help you out

storestore Posted 22 Nov 2014 , 9:28pm
post #3 of 14

Hi, all. A little extra help needed here. Would modeling chocolate work for the white roof in this picture? I've never used modeling chocolate before. I worry that if I use fondant for the roof, the overhang will not hold it's shape.  

Edible Art Co Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Edible Art Co Posted 22 Nov 2014 , 10:26pm
post #4 of 14