Advice On Organizing Decorating Schedule Fospring Wedding

Decorating By Gator Gal Updated 14 Oct 2014 , 3:03am by mcaulir

Gator Gal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gator Gal Posted 13 Oct 2014 , 12:25am
post #1 of 11

AHelp! Would love some advice on how to plan out my daughters wedding in April. I'm not a pro but bake a decorate a lot of cakes for friends and family and have decent fondant and BC skills. My daughter wants a cake buffet with a four tier brides cake and four regular" cakes in different flavors in SMBC. All white cakes. Also, I am making a 3d Lego Stormtrooper cake for the groom's cake. need to know how to plan my week before the wedding to get everything decorated and still fresh. I will begin baking and freezing layers next month. I know the groom's cake will take the most time but the helmet (RKT) can be done way ahead of time and covered with fondant ahead of time and the structure will be built and ready.. I could sure use some organization help! Thanks to anyone who can help clear my fuzzy head:(!

10 replies
thecakewitch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecakewitch Posted 13 Oct 2014 , 12:44am
post #2 of 11

AMake a list of all the components you will need, like: cake, smbc, fondant etc. Another list for the ingredients so you'll know how much to buy. Another list for materials (non food) like boards, ribbons etc. Write down the steps under each component, like: Strawberry smbc - puree strawberries, make plain smbc. Then make a schedule out of all the steps. For example: Day 1, buy ingredients. Day 2, bake off cakes. You're making a lot of cakes, make sure to include a day or two for taking a break or what ifs. Stay organized and good luck.

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 13 Oct 2014 , 2:10am
post #3 of 11