My First Cc-Inspired Cake

Decorating By Cevamal Updated 31 Aug 2014 , 2:33am by Cevamal

Cevamal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cevamal Posted 30 Aug 2014 , 1:49pm
post #1 of 9

I've been baking since I was a kid (30 years!) and can make a fabulous cake but my decorating has always been a sad state of affairs.

A little while back I stumbled across this forum and now I'm obsessed with making a prettier cake. I have no hopes or dreams of making the amazing creations shown here (I don't have a creative bone in my body!) but I want to kick it up a notch.

Yesterday was my mom's birthday so I made her favorite carrot cake with cream cheese frosting:

My first cake post-CC introduction. My 11yo made the gumpaste figures and I made MM fondant (for the first time!) to cover the board.

My 11yo made the gumpaste bits and came up with the finely chopped pecan "dirt" and I made fondant (first time!) for the board. After reading here I just couldn't leave it naked.

It doesn't hold a candle to the phenomenal creations around here but it's loads better than anything I've put out before. :D 

8 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 30 Aug 2014 , 1:55pm
post #2 of 9

that's awesome -- i bet your mom loves it -- your 11 yo did a great job with the carrots & 'dirt' -- if you keep pushing it there's no telling what you can accomplish --good stuff! fondant covered board -- get outa here!

Cevamal Posted 30 Aug 2014 , 2:16pm
post #3 of 9

AThe pork chops had 1.5h in the oven. I was all "hey wait! I have marshmallows!"

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 30 Aug 2014 , 3:36pm
post #4 of 9

so you mean you tossed it together at the last minute? even better! too cool

remnant3333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
remnant3333 Posted 30 Aug 2014 , 5:55pm
post #5 of 9