Dowel Support System In 4 Tiered Cake?

Decorating By ConnieCakes14 Updated 28 Aug 2014 , 1:58pm by leah_s

ConnieCakes14 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ConnieCakes14 Posted 25 Aug 2014 , 2:59pm
post #1 of 11

AHello! I am fairly new at making cakes. So far, my tallest cake was 3 tier using dowels for support. I am making a wedding cake next month and it will be 4 tiered 12", 10", 8", and 6". My question, is the dowel system sturdy enough to support that, and be able to transport it fully assembled, or do I need to go for something like sps?

10 replies
thecakewitch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecakewitch Posted 25 Aug 2014 , 3:21pm
post #2 of 11

AIf your system works for 3tier, i don't see why it won't work with 4tier. As long as you can carry that heavy of a cake, why not deliver it assembled.

ConnieCakes14 Posted 25 Aug 2014 , 5:00pm
post #3 of 11

AThanks. Do I need to change the sizes of bottom dowels? I've been using Wilton's 1/4 inch thick dowels.

cai0311 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cai0311 Posted 25 Aug 2014 , 5:41pm
post #4 of 11

AI use bubble tea straws as the support dowels for all my cakes. Doesn't matter if the cake is 2 tiers or 7 tiers. They work great, are cheap and are super easy to cut to size.

AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 25 Aug 2014 , 5:46pm
post #5 of 11

AYep, I love my trusty boba tea (bubble, fat) straws for any size tiered cake.

MBalaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MBalaska Posted 25 Aug 2014 , 6:04pm
post #6 of 11

Had to look up a "boba"  tea straw, boy those are big.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004Y34VT0/?tag=cakecentral-20

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 25 Aug 2014 , 6:51pm
post #7 of 11

I'm a BIG fan of SPS.  It's way easy to use and completely secure as all the parts physically tie together.  With either dowels or straws, you cake basically balances tier on tier.