Icing Images...first Time Use

Decorating By kimbm04r Updated 12 Aug 2014 , 6:38am by Kadesan

kimbm04r Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimbm04r Posted 9 Aug 2014 , 10:34pm
post #1 of 11

I am in the process of making a cake for a Baptism dinner tomorrow (I am being baptized).  I have never used these before and am wondering how I use them.  I use crusting buttercream.  Can I put them on the cake after the cake crusts and I smooth it using the Viva method or do I have to do something special to get the sheet to adhere to the cake?

10 replies
hbquikcomjamesl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hbquikcomjamesl Posted 10 Aug 2014 , 1:04am
post #2 of 11

ADepending on the exact type of edible printing media used, you may or may not need to chill it before peeling. Some materials (DecoPac's, for one) should most definitely be chilled in the freezer, while others (the stuff my current cake supply shop uses, for one) aren't significantly affected by being chilled.

If it's your first time, it might be a good idea to have a spare edible print on hand, especially if it's the kind of media that doesn't become stiff when chilled.

And you need to either apply it BEFORE the frosting crusts. Or un-crust the frosting by moistening it. Once the image is peeled from the backing sheet, line it up (you only get one shot at it), plop it down (literally, if it's the chill-and-apply sort of media), and press lightly. Over a period of from several minutes to several hours, it will fuse to the frosting. Note that edible inks and printing media are not archival; the colors will start to shift and fade within a matter of days after application (or within a matter of months in storage).

But I'm speaking only from my own limited experience. If you have questions, you should take them to whoever did your edible printing; they presumably know their own materials, and should be able to give you more specific instructions.

kimbm04r Posted 10 Aug 2014 , 3:06am
post #3 of 11