Covering Cakes

Decorating By Abs25 Updated 6 Aug 2014 , 5:05am by Apti

Abs25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Abs25 Posted 4 Aug 2014 , 7:15pm
post #1 of 6

AI have a wedding cake that I have baked and frozen for this Saturday. Would it be ok to cover the cakes with buttercream and fondant on Thursday? Just worrying about them going stale.

Thanks

5 replies
JSKConfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JSKConfections Posted 4 Aug 2014 , 8:02pm
post #2 of 6

It won't go stale...I always crumb coat let settle, then cover and decorate the next day.  The fondant helps seal it good.  Good luck!

Abs25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Abs25 Posted 4 Aug 2014 , 9:48pm
post #3 of 6

ABrilliant!! Thanks!

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 5 Aug 2014 , 12:58am
post #4 of 6

I freeze cakes all the time.  I am a hobby baker and sometimes my shortness of breath really limits how much I can get accomplished in a 24 hour time frame.  My "best friend" is my upright, manual defrost, freezer that I reserve for cakes and cake stuff (like buttercream, shortening, and items nearing an expiration date).

Freezing stops the process of going stale.  Just last night, for instance, I baked two, 12"x2" high layers of sour cream white cake.  Each layer was placed on a cardboard wrapped in non-stick aluminum foil.  I lightly covered with a tea towel and let them cool completely, then wrapped each one (including the cardboard) in 3 layers of plastic wrap, [you may also wish to use heavy-duty aluminum foil over the plastic wrap] then placed in the freezer.   When I am ready to defrost, I take them out the night before I need to finish assembly and decorating, leave them STILL COMPLETELY WRAPPED on a counter for about 2 hours, then remove the wrapping.  Any condensation will form on the wrapping and not on the cake.

Tonight I will bake/cool/wrap/freeze the next two 12"x2" red velvet layers.

Tomorrow I will make buttercream and freeze it in freezer containers.