Chocolate Cake With Oil Under Fondant

Baking By KatrinaBroughton Updated 3 Aug 2014 , 3:50pm by KatrinaBroughton

KatrinaBroughton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KatrinaBroughton Posted 2 Aug 2014 , 11:58am
post #1 of 10

I am experimenting with different chocolate cake recipes and would like to try a recipe with oil instead of butter (Hershey's Chocolate Cake is on that list), but in her Craftsy Class Jenny McCoy suggested that oil based chocolate cakes may not be able to hold the weight of fondant. My gut says the smbc or ganache layer under the fondant would be stable enough that it wouldn't be a problem.

Does anyone else use an oil-based chocolate cake recipe under fondant successfully?

9 replies
drea88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drea88 Posted 2 Aug 2014 , 1:37pm
post #2 of 10

AMy chocolate cake recipe uses oil, and I have used it under fondant with no problems. I usually frost it with SMBC. I have used it as a bottom tier for a two tier cake. I'm a hobby baker, not a professional, so maybe a pro would have a different opinion.

yortma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yortma Posted 2 Aug 2014 , 2:10pm
post #3 of 10

After much trial and error I discovered the double chocolate cake recipe from Epicurious. It has been my go to chocolate cake recipe ever since (with Hershey's special dark cocoa).  It is oil based.  I have used it many times both with SMBC and ganache under the fondant (massa grischuna).  HTH

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Double-Chocolate-Layer-Cake-101275

morganchampagne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
morganchampagne Posted 2 Aug 2014 , 2:40pm
post #4 of 10

ASame as above. For my nieces birthday I just used a regular old Duncan Hines and it has oil. Covered in fondant just fine. I Ice with imbc which is essentially the same as smbc

MBalaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MBalaska Posted 2 Aug 2014 , 5:59pm
post #5 of 10

Quote:

Originally Posted by yortma