So You're Self Taught. Ok….

Lounge By AZCouture Updated 3 Aug 2014 , 12:15pm by bubs1stbirthday

Gingerlocks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gingerlocks Posted 28 Jul 2014 , 2:13pm
post #31 of 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by maybenot 

Well, I guess for those of us who aren't self-taught, we could qualify our answers/advice with, " I've spent thousands of dollars and hundreds of hours on professional training."......

I have actually stated that when people want one of my cakes "but the (insert cheap cake ladies name here) charges less than half of that! But I'd really love one of your's they  are beautiful and I know you'd do a good job. Can't you just give me a deal??"...

And unfortunately that does factor into the price of a cake; I am sure there are plenty of self taught people out there who do better work..in fact I know there are; but it cost me a small fortune to learn this trade, and that's a value added in my opinion. 

jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 28 Jul 2014 , 9:30pm
post #32 of 43

I'm self-taught and proud of it.  That means that I was bitten by the cake-making bug and learned to make the beautiful cakes I saw on my own - no classes, no one to ask the millions of questions that came up with each one. 

This was before the internet took over the world, so getting information was difficult.  Trial and error was the order of the day.  There was no one to ask how many cups of batter a particular size pan would hold or what would happen to the recipe if I added a certain something.  I had to figure it out myself. I had to learn which piping tips produced what look and how to use them.  I was in heaven when I found my first set of fondant tools at Hobby Lobby and no longer had to use a pizza cutter and crochet hook.