So You're Self Taught. Ok….

Lounge By AZCouture Updated 3 Aug 2014 , 12:15pm by bubs1stbirthday

AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 26 Jul 2014 , 6:06am
post #1 of 43

Why mention it on every photo you post, or every time you make a comment answering a "how to" question? Is it a badge of honor, or is it an excuse in case someone thinks your work isn't nice then you can blame it on not having formal training? :D Seriously just wondering, I see a lot of people do it here, there, everywhere. And in most cases the person is a fairly good decorator if not a really good decorator. And if you really are self taught, that means you don't watch YouTube videos or look up tutorials either, right? Because that's almost like taking a class….right? Just a Friday night rambling, waiting for some gum paste to set up. :roll: 

42 replies
cakebaby2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebaby2 Posted 26 Jul 2014 , 6:55am
post #2 of 43

I always stress that i'm a homemaker (mums cakes) if I answer a query I think I might be able to help with and only if the OP doesn't get any replies from the pro's.

Maybe its just folks making sure the OP knows this is not professional advice so they can discard it?

On the other hand self taught does suggest years of trial and error, not a library of DVD's and books.

IAmPamCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IAmPamCakes Posted 26 Jul 2014 , 7:09am
post #3 of 43

ANothing wrong with being self-taught, but I don't need to be reminded all the time. It's almost like a preemptive excuse, in case your work isn't that great. I've never bought a tutorial or really used any learning tool other than my own trials & errors. I learn the hard way :). I should really work on that.

maybenot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maybenot Posted 26 Jul 2014 , 4:40pm
post #4 of 43