How Much Should I Charge For A 9" Single Tier Full Fondant Super Mario Cake??

Business By Minileo Updated 22 Jul 2014 , 3:56pm by cai0311

Minileo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Minileo Posted 19 Jul 2014 , 4:31pm
post #1 of 9

Hi everyone

I am kind of new to the baking but I read a lot about the helpful information from this wonderful site.

I am making a 9" X 6" chocolate cake covered with fondant & fondant figurines.  I am having hard time pricing this cake. can some one help me. I have attached pictures for the reference. Thank you so much in advance.

Also if some one can help me pricing cupcakes like the ones in the picture. Thank you again.

8 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 19 Jul 2014 , 4:59pm
post #2 of 9

across the u.s. fondant cakes go for about $4 - $7 a serving base price -- figurines are anywhere from $10 on up and some require copyright privileges granted -- cupcakes start in some places as low as $1 and could go as high as $5 or more --

i'm curious did you make these cakes in the photos?

Minileo Posted 19 Jul 2014 , 5:24pm
post #3 of 9

K8memphis:  No i did not make these cakes ( these cupcakes are made by me though) but I am planning on replicate these. I got this order last nyt and so far I have made super mario. Since that was the main challenging part for me as I am new to fondant. I am attaching the picture of a cake which I baked on my son's 3rd bday (For free :D)

On second note our local gourmet bakery charges $2.99 for regular cupcake & up depending on kind of decoration. For regular 8" chocolate cake they charge $48. Since I am new to this I know I can not afford charging like them but I don't want to get underpaid as well. So I wanted to know how much should I charge for these kinds of cakes & cupcakes. Can you also help me pricing for this "Thomas cake" it's a Chocolate cake with fruit filing and coffee flavored butter cream ??

Minileo Posted 19 Jul 2014 , 7:57pm
post #4 of 9