Best Fondant

Decorating By snwflak56 Updated 9 Jul 2014 , 4:35am by morganchampagne

snwflak56 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snwflak56 Posted 22 Jun 2014 , 3:46pm
post #1 of 7

I know this topic probably has been covered but I am new to all of this and would like a few pointers. 

I have tried the MMF but if it gets too humid then it is just a mess.... it is too thin and just melts off the cake. I recently tried Michelle Fosters Fondant recipe but I don't know what I did wrong because it was super firm and I wasn't able to roll it out easily at all. I have a wedding cake to do in September and I want it to be perfect, any pointers will be greatly appreciated!! Are there any other recipes anyone has tried that work for them when it is hot and humid? Thanks.

6 replies
Lunita13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lunita13 Posted 7 Jul 2014 , 6:05am
post #2 of 7

Hi snwflak56. I've tried using MMF but prefer the Michelle Foster's Fondant recipe. Did you try adding more glycerin to it while kneading? I just made a batch using my stand mixer for the first time last week (I've done it by hand every other time) and added probably more powdered sugar than I needed to because my dough hook was too short and consequently unable to reach the fondant, sugar, and cocoa at the bottom of the bowl. When I went to knead the dough today, it was way harder than any other fondant I've made (it was like one gigantic tootsie roll), but it rolled out fine eventually. I used tips from this blog: http://sugarcoatedchronicle.blogspot.com/2010/09/perfect-fondant-tips-for-covering-cake.html

For example, I needed about two pounds total, but kneaded only a quarter of that at a time. I added glycerin and shortening on each part. It took awhile and a lot of elbow grease but I ended up with nice, pliable (but not stretchy) fondant. It was pretty hot in LA today too but not super humid. 

TheNerdyBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheNerdyBaker Posted 7 Jul 2014 , 8:43am
post #3 of 7