Is 2.00 Per Slice Reasonable?

Business By candiandi Updated 2 Jul 2014 , 12:15am by SteelPennyCakes

candiandi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
candiandi Posted 16 Jun 2014 , 1:26pm
post #1 of 57

Okay, so I have been doing the caking thing for over a year now.  I am self taught and I am confident that I am ready to actually sell to make a profit.  I live in a small town in westeren Pa, so I realize I can't get too crazy with my prices.  After costing everything out, I would not even make minimun wage :/  Too many people message me saying how they love my cakes but are so blown away when I give them a price. I do not charge 2.00 per slice for a sheet cake, It's more like 1.50 per slice-but anything else I would have to start at 2.00.  I realize price depends on cost of goods and the location, but I wanted some advice from someone who has been doing this for a while.  Thanks for any help!

56 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 16 Jun 2014 , 2:51pm
post #2 of 57

those prices seem pretty low to me-- if you are going to be doing custom work i would hope your prices could be higher--

but a work around for that is to set boundaries -- for example -- only do certain sizes period-- that will save you a lot of time and money -- what i'm trying to say is establish a repertoire that your clients can fit into--most custom cakers do it all custom designed--

something like this  http://www.nothingbundtcakes.com/

just let your folks choose something off your well established menu --

when people contact you --say "yes i can do that at this price however i can do this cake at this more affordable price" -- so do your best to retain every contact as a customer by supplying them with what you can do for them without bankrupting yourself before you ice the first cake--