Airbrush System

Decorating By alene Updated 16 Jun 2014 , 12:42am by enga

alene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alene Posted 8 Jun 2014 , 11:55pm
post #1 of 14

I received this airbrush gun and have no idea what I would need to purchase to make it work, besides airbrush colors.  Anyone know anything about airbrush systems can help me.  thank you 

13 replies
liz at sugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
liz at sugar Posted 9 Jun 2014 , 12:07am
post #2 of 14

Alene - You will need a compatible hose, maybe a coupler/air pressure control piece, a compressor, and airbrush colors.  Americolor makes those under the Amerimist name.  I'm new to airbrushing, but I know you at least need all that! :)

Liz

alene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alene Posted 9 Jun 2014 , 12:20am
post #3 of 14

Thank you Liz.  I figured I needed a hose and compressor but really just don't know what I'm doing.

RedneckRuffle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RedneckRuffle Posted 9 Jun 2014 , 2:34am
post #4 of 14

Ahttp://m.harborfreight.com/air-tools/air-compressors/1-5-hp-58-psi-compressor-and-airbrush-kit-95630.html

I've had this setup for years and it still works great. It comes with a moisture seperator built onto it. On most compressors, you have to buy that separate. I don't think the airbrush that comes with it is a dual-action, but you could stick it in a drawer as a backup.

sweettia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettia Posted 9 Jun 2014 , 3:18am
post #5 of 14

AI'd love to do airbrushing but im terrified to try lol Kudos to yall for doing it though#

cazza1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cazza1 Posted 9 Jun 2014 , 3:25am
post #6 of 14

I started out with a cheap one like that before upgrading.  I took it and my compressor in to a local shop and had them fit the right hose and coupler to make it work.

sha1col Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sha1col Posted 9 Jun 2014 , 5:29am
post #7 of 14