Store Front Question

Business By sweet_cravings Updated 10 May 2014 , 7:08pm by costumeczar

sweet_cravings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet_cravings Posted 9 May 2014 , 5:52pm
post #1 of 7

Just wondering if you really need to have a pastry chef degree or at least some sorts of certification to open a cupcake & cake bake store front? I know technically not needed for the process but just for having extra knowledge or experience?... Planning to open a shop but getting SO nervous bcoz my degree is from totally diff field but cake decorating is my SOLID hobby & people are approaching me for orders seeing my designs.

TIA

6 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 9 May 2014 , 6:24pm
post #2 of 7

the average pastry school or the pastry portion of a culinary degree covers very little in the way of celebration cakes--you'd get more from several airings of 'cupcake wars' and just feeding your passion like you're doing with caking--taking specific courses from cakers is much more to the point--

it's interesting how many different avenues one can travel in pastry -- the road you go down in pastry school is often geared mostly toward the restaurant & hospitality category with a little bit of celebration cake tossed in for good measure--

so it's not only not necessary imo it's a waste of time for what you propose--fun though

cupadeecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupadeecakes Posted 9 May 2014 , 7:40pm
post #3 of 7