Stencilling A Cake

Decorating By beckybakes617 Updated 9 May 2014 , 6:25pm by -K8memphis

beckybakes617 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beckybakes617 Posted 9 May 2014 , 1:02pm
post #1 of 11

I've been asked if I am able to create a cake similar to this. I'm just wondering if it has actually been achieved by stencils, or has it been done with something similar to gumpaste? Sugarveil maybe? If it is stencils, do you think it's buttercream or royal icing that's been used?  I have never done stencils before, and I'm a bit worried about using this technique as it will be travelling for three hours to the venue!!

Thank you for any advice :-)

CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v62), quality = 90

10 replies
cupadeecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupadeecakes Posted 9 May 2014 , 1:41pm
post #2 of 11

I don't think it's stencils.  My vote is that someone used a cutting machine (Cricut, etc) to cut this out.  It might have been a Sugar Veil / Sugar Dress mat.  Whatever they did, it's beautiful.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 9 May 2014 , 1:48pm
post #3 of 11

me too i vote cutting machine--it is beautiful--

what i like is the bottom most plate is smaller and it still looks good--i mean obviously it's on a pedastel but then the top of that is smaller than  the bottom board the cake is on but the decor flows well and it doesn't look off as the wrong size plateau often does

well done

beckybakes617 Posted 9 May 2014 , 2:13pm
post #4 of 11

Thanks for the replies, so you don't think the birds/bird cages are edible?

cupadeecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupadeecakes Posted 9 May 2014 , 2:18pm
post #5 of 11

Quote:

Originally Posted by beckybakes617 

Thanks for the replies, so you don't think the birds/bird cages are edible?

No, I believe they are edible.  I think someone cut gumpaste or modeling chocolate into the bird / branch shape using a cutting machine like the Cricut or Silhouette.