What Would You Charge?

Business By RMBCakes Updated 1 May 2014 , 4:19am by howsweet

RMBCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RMBCakes Posted 29 Apr 2014 , 4:46am
post #1 of 69

A[IMG ALT=""]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3227691/width/350/height/700[/IMG]

I completed this cake this morning. It's 6 inches round, with 2.5 layers (it was much too tall with the additional half layer). Scratch baked lemon cake with fresh lemon curd and lemon buttercream. The whole thing used about a bag of lemons with all the zest. The characters are home made MC and the rest is fondant.

I'm a newbie but I've been told I have talent. This is my 6th cake. I've been researching pricing and everything I read says do not undercharge even as a beginner. You end up being known as a cheap baker and undercut other bakeries businesses.

Anyway, what would you all charge?

68 replies
lcubed83 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lcubed83 Posted 29 Apr 2014 , 2:00pm
post #2 of 69

I don't sell, so my only comment is I think it would be fairly high for a small cake because of all the molded characters.  It is very cute, and very cleanly put together.

Mattie2013 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mattie2013 Posted 29 Apr 2014 , 6:50pm
post #3 of 69

No one can tell you want to charge for a cake, you alone will have to figure out what it cost you to make it.

1) Cost of ingredients (right down to the 1/4 teaspoon)

2) Cost to turn your oven on

3) Your cake board

4) Your MC

5) Your TIME

6) Whatever else you need for that cake.

These are just some of the things you need to figure out to see if your making a profit on the cakes you are selling.

Good Luck.

AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 29 Apr 2014 , 8:30pm
post #4 of 69