Opinions Wanted On 16 Hour Drive For Wedding Cake Delivery

Decorating By DebbyJG Updated 9 May 2014 , 5:30am by cheeseball

DebbyJG Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DebbyJG Posted 27 Apr 2014 , 11:20pm
post #1 of 48

AHere's the situation: I'm not a cake newbie, been making cakes including wedding cakes for years, and I use SPS.

BUT this weekend will be a new challenge. My husband's brother is getting married, 16 hours away from me, and I am making the cake. Originaly it was going to be just a small family wedding of 25 or so, but wouldnt you know it, it is now 85 people. Just found out today. Um. Yeah. So..

My gut feeling is to make the cake tiers here, freeze them, and then put the cake together in my hotel roomwhen I get there. The thought of driving two days, through Chicago, and into the unpredictable weather of MN, just has NO written all over it.

But . I've never made a wedding cake in a hotel before. I figure I can make my frosting here ahead of time as well, put it in big containers, and transport that along with my cakes. Has anyone here done anything similar that can give me some tips? I'm keeping the design simple, just a natural vertical textured design, but do I need a box of dry ice, do you think? Should I assemble the tiers with the buttercreme fillings (I do two torted layers and three layers of filling, for each tier)? The torting and filling process always seems to be one of the most mess making parts of the process, so while assembling the cake on a hotel desk doesnt seem frightening, the tier assembly does. But transporting frozen, unassembled cake layers would definitely be easier than assembled, unstacked tiers. I am also renting a minivan for the trip, so space won't be an issue.

Thoughts? Suggestions? A hug of support?

And yes, this cake just became The Wedding Gift, as soon as it went from a little sheet cake for 25, "no big deal", to a 3-4 tiered round stacked cake for 85. Grrr...

Thanks, Debby

47 replies