Fondant Ruffle Rose Cake

Decorating By rydilly Updated 8 May 2014 , 2:42pm by caketherapy

rydilly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rydilly Posted 27 Mar 2014 , 9:23pm
post #1 of 12

I am going to be making a fondant ruffled rose cake for a wedding.   I have never done one before.

I have done a practice one.

Does anyone know how wide to cut the strips to make the rose?

Any help would be appreciated

11 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 28 Mar 2014 , 11:20pm
post #2 of 12

AYou mean one that has ruffles made from rose petals? Or a ruffle that wraps up to look like a rose?

rydilly Posted 28 Mar 2014 , 11:52pm
post #3 of 12

A strip of fondant that you wrap around to make it look like a big rose

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 29 Mar 2014 , 10:36am
post #4 of 12

AFor that it would depend on how big you want the rose to be. The larger the diameter of the rose, the wider the outer strip should be. If it's something that's going to be really wide you can also build it on a disc of fondant or gumpaste to hold it securely.

If it's a ruffle for the side of the cake, I wouldn't make it more than about a half an inch to 3/4" wide or it will be floppy.

rydilly Posted 29 Mar 2014 , 11:04pm
post #5 of 12

Thank you      I will try 1/2 ".   I think that will work

ymmat77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ymmat77 Posted 30 Mar 2014 , 12:33pm
post #6 of 12

I made the attached cake "rosettes" by cutting a strip of 50/50 fondant and gumpaste in long strips about 1 1/2 wide.  Then I folded strips in half lengthwise so they were a bit thicker.  Then I rolled them around each other and just kept going and going.  Working from the middle to the out.  I did this on the cake.  I did not make them ahead of time and attach later because I wanted them to curve to the side of cake.  Let me know if you have any questions.  Hope this is what you meant?

rydilly Posted 30 Mar 2014 , 10:47pm
post #7 of 12