Icc New York's Cake Technique And Design Class

Decorating By cakerbakelove Updated 30 Oct 2014 , 5:56pm by cakerbakelove

cakerbakelove Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakerbakelove Posted 22 Mar 2014 , 5:09am
post #1 of 10

Hello all!

I am a long time lurker and tonight I finally took the plunge and signed up at CC! I am an avid baker and have basic decoration skills.  I have been considering the Cake Decoration program offered at International Culinary Centre at New York.  It is a 3 month course.  Has any one here taken this course or has any ideas of how the program is?  Here is an outline of the course offering:

Unit 1: Introduction to Cake Baking, Filling, and Finishing (85 hrs)
Unit 2: Advanced Cake Decorating Techniques, Flavor Pairings, & Texture Combinations  (65 hrs)
Unit 3: Sugar Paste Flowers and Advanced Floral Decorations (30 hrs)
Unit 4: Advanced Cake Designing, Starting a Cake Design Business (95 hrs)

I plan on taking a tour next month but was wondering if I could get some genuine feedback on the program if someone has been to this school or has heard about it from their friends/fellow bakers.

I would love to start my cake decorating business (with all the legal permits).  I want to do it as my full time profession and am hoping this course would give me a push in the right direction. 

Appreciate your feedback.

9 replies
MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 22 Mar 2014 , 6:45pm
post #2 of 10

How much is tuition? Can you easily afford it?

cakerbakelove Posted 22 Mar 2014 , 7:40pm
post #3 of 10

AIt is 21,000$ for the program. I have money saved up and I should be able to afford it wo any financial aid as well. I would like to convert my basement into a cake studio (permitted in my town) once I have the skills and some experience and would like to focus on wedding cakes. MimiFix, have you heard about this program?

nancylee61 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nancylee61 Posted 22 Mar 2014 , 8:48pm
post #4 of 10