Home Based Business - Wedding Consultations?

Business By Mel37 Updated 27 Feb 2014 , 9:33pm by craftybanana

Mel37 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mel37 Posted 27 Feb 2014 , 4:06pm
post #1 of 8

AHi everyone!

Just after some advice/other experiences from people in a similar situation. I'm a home based baker/decorator based in the UK. I'm all registered etc with Environmental Health/Trading Standards etc and have been running for a few months doing mainly birthday cakes so far, contacting customers over email mainly or by phone.

I am hoping to get some wedding cake orders soon though, and have attended one wedding fair so far and have another next month.

My concern at the moment though is how to handle consultations. My home insurance doesn't approve of having customers into the house unless I pay loads more, and to be honest as it's our home I'd rather not have people here as I don't have a separate area I can use for this purpose. I have my health rating certificate to reassure customers my kitchen is approved and clean etc (5 star rating which is the the highest you can get here), but I'm not sure how I should actually phrase that I don't have people to the house without raising any concerns. My idea so far has been to arrange to meet at a customers house, or local cafe, but I would love to hear how anyone else deals with this?

Thanks! Mel X

7 replies
natt12321 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
natt12321 Posted 27 Feb 2014 , 5:18pm
post #2 of 8

ACoffee shops and cafes, some kind of neutral ground.

pinchofsweetener Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinchofsweetener Posted 27 Feb 2014 , 5:23pm
post #3 of 8

Quote:

Originally Posted by natt12321 

Coffee shops and cafes, some kind of neutral ground.

I think what she's asking is should it come up, how does she explain to customers that she doesn't meet at her home without them being suspicious and worried about the state of her home and kitchen (which she will be using to make their cake).