Pricing

Business By Sweet T 37051 Updated 26 Feb 2014 , 10:58pm by Sweet T 37051

Sweet T 37051 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweet T 37051 Posted 26 Feb 2014 , 6:20am
post #1 of 18

AFellow bakers.. I NEED HELP. I started my home cake bussiness and I priced my cakes 1.00 a slice for plain buttercream 1.50 a slice for buttercream with fondant decorations and 2.50 a slice for cakes covered in fondant. For some reason people tell me that is too much but mostly family amd friends say its fine. I asked one of our local bakeries that is about an hr from my house and she charged 2.50 for plain cakes so I figured since she had a store front and I'm a home baker that I would charge cheaper. I live in a small town in TN and I know people in rural areas are cheap when it comes to wants and not needs but that being said I looked at a bakery in Nashville TN and they charged $5 a slice with a minimum on cake orders.. I need y'alls input bad.. PLEASE!:-(

17 replies
TheNerdyBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheNerdyBaker Posted 26 Feb 2014 , 6:27am
post #2 of 18

You are brand spankin' new on these forums, so take a minute to use the search function and you will find literally hundreds of threads on this topic.

Threads about pricing are somewhat of a hot button issue on CC since every since person makes a new thread and doesn't utilize all the information already readily available.

Good luck

Sweet T 37051 Posted 26 Feb 2014 , 6:49am
post #3 of 18

AI was hoping for help from somebody in a rural area. I looked at most of the threads but I didnt see any that catered to rural areas.

TheNerdyBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheNerdyBaker Posted 26 Feb 2014 , 7:00am
post #4 of 18

All the other threads still contain information pertaining to proper pricing no matter where you are.

It all boils down to that cake is a LUXURY item, not a necessity.  You may be in a rural area, but that definitely doesn't mean that you price yourself in to a hole.