What Should I Use For A Cupcake Flower?

Decorating By KerryfromNZ Updated 3 Mar 2014 , 3:36am by KerryfromNZ

KerryfromNZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KerryfromNZ Posted 24 Feb 2014 , 5:14am
post #1 of 8

Hi, I'm pretty new to cake decorating however have decided to jump in the deep end and make my own cupcakes for my wedding.  I have been experimenting with and reading about different products to use to make the gerbera daisy topper which will sit on top of a buttercream swirl on each cupcake.  I have tried store bought fondant, this was too brittle and broke easily when dry and I have tried making my own gum paste, which works quite well however it tastes disgusting and I would not want to serve my guests inedible food.  Can anyone suggest the perfect product for this purpose which is tasty?  Is marshmellow fondant stronger than store bought?  Any suggestions very gratefully received! 

7 replies
W3ndy8ird Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
W3ndy8ird Posted 25 Feb 2014 , 6:20pm
post #2 of 8

AMarshmallow fondant (MMF) is pretty easy to make and tastes better than store bought. Gerbera daisies are pretty simple so it should be fine for those. Also, I know you said you were starting out in baking, but modeling chocolate might work well too. Definitely do a lot of research and lots of practice, which sounds like you are.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 25 Feb 2014 , 11:57pm
post #3 of 8

I personally , would use modeling chocolate for the flowers.

MBalaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MBalaska Posted 26 Feb 2014 , 12:12am
post #4 of 8

Yup....Modeling Chocolate.  Looks good, smells good, taste good, easy to make, easy to work with.

mgreen44 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mgreen44 Posted 26 Feb 2014 , 1:26am
post #5 of 8