Figurine - Join Different Parts Together, Or Try To Shape From One Piece?

Decorating By emarcomd Updated 6 Mar 2014 , 9:16pm by emarcomd

emarcomd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emarcomd Posted 6 Feb 2014 , 10:50pm
post #1 of 15

Hi folks-

I'm new here and also a "self-taught"  (read: still sloppy) fondant user.

Well, I'm trying to make a replica of my friend's dog.  After all these grand plans of making some gorgeous muscle-for-muscle replica, I quickly realized that I should go for "more cartoonish" look.  

Well, I actually found a salt shaker in my cabinet that looks reasonable to try and duplicate.  (see photo)

I'm going to put the head on separately, but here's my question about the body...

Since it's so tough to get smooth can't-see-the-seams joints (like where the body meets the legs, tail, etc.) should I try to form the dog's body from one solid piece of fondant.  I'm using about 60% fondant 40% gumpaste mixture.

I was thinking about doing the easy thing and then just doing something like... umm... frosting it... or something to hide the joints, but I think that would be a disaster.

What are your thoughts?  I can try it both ways of course, but that just means I'll tear out twice as much of my hair.

And if anyone has any tips/tricks out there, that'd be great.   I've watched every "fondant dog figure" tutorial out there, and they all use joints..

Thank you!

14 replies
emarcomd Posted 7 Feb 2014 , 12:35am
post #2 of 15

okay, so here I am so far...  the head is done.  It's okay.  I know I shouldn't have put the eyes in until last, but he looked so funny without them.

(while the wrinkles in the dog's neck were an accident, the dog in question really does have a wrinkly neck - yay!)

The problem is, the back of the head looks like this:

Still struggling with the body, and I can't even imagine how I'm going to attach this head to the body that I'm already struggling with.   I *can* however, put a really big collar on the boy.