*stacking Mudcake*

Decorating By nikii0710 Updated 23 Jan 2014 , 10:51am by nikii0710

nikii0710 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nikii0710 Posted 29 Dec 2013 , 11:05am
post #1 of 22

AHello there im new to cake central and need some help please.

I'm making a 2 tier cake for my baby's 1st birthday, i've made 2 other cakes but both were 1 tier and neither mud, my question is do i need supports and a cake board between? i know people do it but is it necessary?

My wedding, engagement and other daughters 1st birthday cake were all 2 or 3 tier and none had supports or extra boards and all were mud, they werent filled or anything either if that makes a difference?

also seeing as im making mud and can do it over a few days, do i cover with fondant and decorate the same day or cover, let it dry then decorate? the other 2 were baked, crumbcoated, covered and decorated, all in a matter of hours.

thank you in advance :)

21 replies
savannahquinn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
savannahquinn Posted 29 Dec 2013 , 1:51pm
post #2 of 22

I put supports and some type of dowel or support system in all my stacked cakes...no exceptions. 

Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 29 Dec 2013 , 7:06pm
post #3 of 22

AI can't imagine any tiered cake without supports and some sort of filling, unless they were very thin layers of cake. My cake tiers are at least 4" high or more so without any filling/icing between that would be a huge hunk of cake with only a tiny bit of icing.

Yes, no matter what kind of cake you make you need some type of support system in order to support the weight from the upper tiers. If cakeboards and sps aren't available to you, or you don't want to put the extra money into them just buy some foamcore and dowels (even bubble tea straws). I'd rather put the extra time into that support system rather then letting my cake collapse.