Cut Cake To Correct Size?

Decorating By smtwngurl Updated 19 Dec 2013 , 10:47pm by howsweet

smtwngurl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smtwngurl Posted 18 Dec 2013 , 11:48am
post #1 of 14

AI'm not sure if I have this posted in the correct forum. I have only done about 20 cakes so I am fairly new to making cakes. I have a square tiered cake due soon. The tiers are 6", 8" & 10". I have a ton of pans but I only have 3 square pans sizes 8", 12" & 16". I hardly ever have to make squares. Can I cut the 12" down to a 10" & the 8" down to a 6"? Would it be less stable because the sides are cut? I didn't want to go buy new pans since I barely ever make square, but I will if I have too :) once in 2 yrs is all I have used them lol. It will be iced in all buttercream. Thanks!

13 replies
AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 18 Dec 2013 , 1:45pm
post #2 of 14

Sure, you could cut them.  Just put a hell of a crumb coat on before icing it, and make sure you don't use too delicate of a recipe.

Bakers Crush Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bakers Crush Posted 18 Dec 2013 , 2:08pm
post #3 of 14

AFor sure you can. Dont we all do cut outs of shapes and characters from cakes all the time?

LizzieAylett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LizzieAylett Posted 18 Dec 2013 , 4:41pm
post #4 of 14

You might want to check out your local cake supply shop first, though, and see if they hire out tins.  I know several near me who do for only £1 or so per night - it would save on wastage as you wouldn't have to cut the cake smaller.

cupcakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakemaker Posted 18 Dec 2013 , 7:06pm
post #5 of 14

AYes just get a drum of the new size, put it on top and hold the knife vertical and flat to it.

ellavanilla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ellavanilla Posted 18 Dec 2013 , 7:41pm
post #6 of 14

Quote:

Originally Posted by cupcakemaker