3D School Bus Cake

Decorating By Iks13 Updated 7 Jun 2014 , 10:20pm by Karansa

Iks13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Iks13 Posted 10 Dec 2013 , 8:57pm
post #1 of 9

AHi All.. I had to bake a school bus cake for my friends son’s birthday. I never tried a 3d bus cake before. If anyone can help me providing some instructions or tips to work on this. That would be really very much helpful. Thanks !

8 replies
SkisandBakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SkisandBakes Posted 10 Dec 2013 , 9:24pm
post #2 of 9

Hi there.

Not sure of your experience level so I may be stating things that you already know. I am a hobby baker who bakes for family only but I have received some great advice here for 3d/carved cakes - you should be able to find bunch of info if you search carved cakes. The most important tip I have received for 3d cakes is to freeze your cake and carve it frozen. Make a template out of cardboard to make sure both sides turn out the same. For a vehicle make the wheels out of RKT and cover with fondant. Good luck and have fun.

Iks13 Posted 11 Dec 2013 , 4:43am
post #3 of 9
  • SkisandBakes: Thanks for your valuable advice and tips. This helps me a lot. 
Iks13 Posted 11 Dec 2013 , 4:46am
post #4 of 9
  • SkisandBakes: Thanks for your valuable advice, this helps me a lot :)
mattyeatscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mattyeatscakes Posted 11 Dec 2013 , 3:25pm
post #5 of 9

Quote:

Originally Posted by Iks13 

Hi All.. I had to bake a school bus cake for my friends son’s birthday. I never tried a 3d bus cake before.
If anyone can help me providing some instructions or tips to work on this. That would be really very much helpful.
Thanks !

Hi,

I made this school bus almost a year ago.  it was my first 3D cake.  Cake was made from a sturdy chocolate cake baked in a 13x9 rectangle pan and frosted with chocolate buttercream frosting.

http://www.mattyeatscakes.com/#!School-Bus-Birthday-Cake/zoom/c21kz/image20z8