Freezing, Thawing And Icing Cake Help!

Decorating By bridinney Updated 28 Nov 2013 , 12:42pm by Sakura Blossom

bridinney Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bridinney Posted 28 Nov 2013 , 1:47am
post #1 of 20

ASo I have quite a bit of questions on a cake I will be making for December the 14th. I am new to this cake decorating and therefore need some help :). The problem with this date is that I have a final the 13th and the 14th, both at two. The cake is for my dad and the party will be starting at 6, hence that I will need the cake to be ready to go before my final at two on the Saturday. My plan is to make MFF (I've heard great reviews and find the MMF to be too sweet for a 40th bday party) on Wednesday the 11th and then bake, ice, fill and cover the cakes Thursday. Has anyone froze MFF before and have any suggestions when it comes to wrapping it up? What about the thawing? I should be home around 30 minutes before the start of the party and it will be sitting at the hall for about two hours before being served. Therefore my second question is what time should I take the cake out of the freezer at? Should it be defrosted in the fridge? Next question is I will be making the cake 10inch bottom 8 inch top and I'm unsure of how much buttercream I should make. The recipe I use normally covers 24 cupcakes with a good amount of icing on each. Any advice or suggestions on even one part would be great :) thank you!

19 replies
Psyched baker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Psyched baker Posted 28 Nov 2013 , 2:02am
post #2 of 20