Dripping Icing Look For A Winter Onederland Cake

Decorating By alshnicole Updated 16 Dec 2013 , 11:52pm by alshnicole

alshnicole Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alshnicole Posted 11 Nov 2013 , 12:35pm
post #1 of 13

I've had a client request a cake similar to the one below.  She really wants the dripping icing look, but I'm unsure of how to do it. I'm fairly new at this, so any help would be appreciated.  Thank you!!!  

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5127/5339991098_60298d7bca_z.jpg

5339991098_60298d7bca_z.jpg

12 replies
savannahquinn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
savannahquinn Posted 11 Nov 2013 , 12:44pm
post #2 of 13

it just looks like thick buttercream or royal icing piped on in a wave shape...

mfeagan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mfeagan Posted 11 Nov 2013 , 12:53pm
post #3 of 13

I would say it's a thick royal icing. It's super smooth and really white. The proper consistency will work! Just test it on the side of your cake pan before putting it on the cake to make sure it doesn't drip all the way down your cake! 

It's really cute!

alshnicole Posted 16 Nov 2013 , 1:47pm
post #4 of 13

Thank you guy!    I thought it was icing, but wasn't sure because of the shininess (is that a word?).  

mfeagan Posted 16 Nov 2013 , 5:27pm
post #5 of 13

Quote:

Originally Posted by alshnicole 

Thank you guy!    I thought it was icing, but wasn't sure because of the shininess (is that a word?).  

LOL! It is now!!!

Royal icing will have a sheen to it once dry. So it will look just like that! :)

You could also add some luster to it with some pearl or super pearl. You would get sort of a shimmer on your snow. ...just a thought. 

Nauz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nauz Posted 20 Nov 2013 , 10:30pm
post #6 of 13

I have to make a cake similar like this next month.  what did you end up using? royal icing?  any advices please?

alshnicole Posted 8 Dec 2013 , 3:42pm
post #7 of 13