A Word To The Pros

Decorating By Pastrybaglady Updated 26 Oct 2013 , 3:37pm by JWinslow

Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 24 Oct 2013 , 6:15pm
post #1 of 15

Hi, I'm a newbie to decorating but I have been a home baker for over 30 years.  I recently joined CC and have read increasingly frustrated posts by the Pros over having to answer the same questions over and over again and getting into arguments because some take offense to their advice.  To these Pros I want to say your words have not fallen on deaf ears!  Because of your advice and words of wisdom I  filed the paperwork and paid the fees so as not to sell illegally, I have done my own research and do not ask pricing questions, I am trying to charge appropriately but if I discount friends and family I show on the invoice what it should have cost and then the discount so they know, I use the search before I post a question, I have turned down a wedding cake because I have never stacked a cake in my life (I'm mostly a cupcake and cookie girl) and a birthday cake because they wanted a Batman logo on it.  All this is to say your words ARE appreciated please keep up the good work and don't go away!

14 replies
Spireite Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spireite Posted 24 Oct 2013 , 6:30pm
post #2 of 15

I am a hobby baker in the UK, and the first time I stacked a cake was a Christening cake.  I still wouldn't attempt to decorate a wedding cake as I would hate that pressure of making it perfect!  I am attempting a second christening cake in the new year and want to try new(to me) techniques on it.  Luckily my friend seems happy for me to experiment.  Lots of inspiration to be had on this site :-D

IowaBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IowaBaker Posted 24 Oct 2013 , 8:35pm
post #3 of 15