Help With Salary Requirements & Resume Style/portfolio Before My Interview On Monday!

Business By taytay056 Updated 17 Oct 2013 , 3:59pm by Stitches

taytay056 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
taytay056 Posted 13 Oct 2013 , 10:18am
post #1 of 14

My husband sent some pics of my cakes in to a bakery outside of DC just for the fun of it..he ended up getting a job interview for each of us, he for an executive chef opening in another branch of the same company, and I for a pastry chef/cake decorator with skills in fondant, gum paste, carving, airbrushing, etc. They seem genuinely interested and excited, and "cleared their calendars" for the day of our visit.

This is what I need to figure out:

1) How much should I be asking for salary/hourly wise, with and/or without factoring in the tremendous increase in cost of living expenses?

2) I am self taught, with no formal education and little to no actual employment as a decorator, so what would you suggest for a resume format or complete alternative? A Portfolio? Suggestions for that type of thing, as well please!

3) Anything I should bring, prepare, ask, request, etc. while at my interview? I am pretty nervous...I haven't interviewed for too many jobs in my life, period...especially not ones for which I was invited from out of town!

4) Anyone here who happens to live in the Northern Virginia area that can weigh in on moving/living/working there? Anything and everything appreciated; commute, rent/mortgage costs, schools, etc...anything at all.

Wish me luck and thanks in advance for any assistance!

13 replies
MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 13 Oct 2013 , 10:52am
post #2 of 14