Help!!!! Need Price Advice!!!

Decorating By sweetbritches Updated 9 Oct 2013 , 4:46pm by SystemMod1

sweetbritches Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetbritches Posted 9 Oct 2013 , 1:18am
post #1 of 30

I have done cakes for a few co-workers on their Birthdays in the past.   I have been asked to do a cake for a co-workers party and she wants to pay for it.  I am not an expert at this.  In fact I just do this for fun and she will not accept me doing the cake for the price of the supplies.  I have a picture of a cake that I have done before and she wants one like it.  I need to know what you think on how much I should ask her for.  Please help!!

Thank you for your advice!!

29 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 9 Oct 2013 , 1:41am
post #2 of 30

AIf you are not running a legal business I would not set a price. if she insists on paying something, let her pay whatever she feels the cake is worth, either to you or to charity.

vgcea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vgcea Posted 9 Oct 2013 , 1:50am
post #3 of 30

AI wonder how many more of these types of threads need to be shut down, how many more newbies need to be alienated, and how many oldies need to be exasperated before the administrators of this site start taking proactive, rather than reactive thread closing, moves to educate or direct newbies on these popular subjects of pricing and legality. The status quo can only suffice for so long. In the mean time we keep going in alienating circles.

jason_kraft Posted 9 Oct 2013 , 1:52am
post #4 of 30

AThings wouldn't be so bad if people (both newbies and veterans) stuck to posting on-topic and just ignored threads/posts/people they didn't like.

sweetbritches Posted 9 Oct 2013 , 2:05am
post #5 of 30