Quick Question About Adding Liquid To Recipe

Baking By rebecca67e Updated 6 Oct 2013 , 8:13pm by rebecca67e

rebecca67e Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rebecca67e Posted 6 Oct 2013 , 6:03pm
post #1 of 11

If I want to add extra liquid (coconut cream/milk, couldn't find the powder at the store) to a recipe, would I have to compensate for it by simply adding more dry ingredients (i.e. flour)?

Thanks!

10 replies
dawnybird Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dawnybird Posted 6 Oct 2013 , 6:17pm
post #2 of 11

Why do you want to add extra liquid? For flavor? If so, just replace some of your water or milk for the liquid you want to use. I don't think you can just add "extra flour" and such, willy-nilly. Baking is a science and, while I'm no expert at scratch recipes, I know that the ratios of dry ingredients, liquids, fats, even acidity all has to be balanced. Maybe if you share the recipe you're using, someone will be able to advise you.

rebecca67e Posted 6 Oct 2013 , 6:23pm
post #3 of 11

Yep for coconut & lime cake. I couldn't find powder at the store so I was going to add some coconut cream instead and hope for the best in terms of flavour.

And yeah, balance of ingredients was what worried me haha. I don't think I can just add cream and have the texture remain normal. I don't have any other liquids in this (very simple) recipe that I can replace it with...

·         170g self-raising flour

·         170g caster sugar

·         170g butter

·         1 teaspoon baking powder

·         3 eggs

·         40g desiccated coconut

·         1 lime (zest plus 1tbsp juice)

·         1 tablespoon of coconut powder - no.

Maybe I should just look for a new recipe.

dawnybird Posted 6 Oct 2013 , 6:30pm
post #4 of 11

Quote:

Originally Posted by rebecca67e 

Yep for coconut & lime cake. I couldn't find powder at the store so I was going to add some coconut cream instead and hope for the best in terms of flavour.