Do You Really Make X, Y, And Z From Scratch?

Decorating By MustangMollie Updated 3 Oct 2013 , 1:24am by cazza1

MustangMollie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MustangMollie Posted 2 Oct 2013 , 1:17pm
post #1 of 25

AI'm just wondering how many folks here make everything from scratch. I know some of you make fondant, scratch cakes, etc. so far I've only baked from mixes and used commercial fondant. But I have made various buttercreams, ganaches, and tonight I made a double batch of modeling chocolate and a double batch of whit chocolate ganache. Do you really make a lot of thus from scratch? I'm just wondering because it takes me forever (especially the modeling chocolate).

Currently, I'm a serious hobbyist who's new to the game. However, I am considering the option of turning pro so I'm testing out techniques, brands of fondant, mucking colors, and recipes. Considering what I've seen folks price cake at on here, I can't imagine how it's possible to make a decent hourly rate making it all from scratch. Am I confused or dud I miss something?

I know this can be a sensitive subject for done folks and I'm not trying to start an argument. Us like to get some opinions straight from the horse's mouth. Thanks so much. As always, you guts are awesome!

24 replies
cakealicious7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakealicious7 Posted 2 Oct 2013 , 1:41pm
post #2 of 25

AIts a good question, im just a hobby baker also but i make most things from scratch. Things like fondant and gumpaste i buy, i did try and make homemade MMF but it didnt turn out right, so i gave up lol. Everything else i do make because its more satisfying to know that i created that, but i suppose if you run a business then some people just dont have the time to make everything themselves. I've yet to make modeling chocolate but i cant wait to try it :-D

sixinarow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sixinarow Posted 2 Oct 2013 , 1:48pm
post #3 of 25