How Can I Do This?! Help!!

Decorating By miniflowercake Updated 27 Sep 2013 , 3:34pm by miniflowercake

miniflowercake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miniflowercake Posted 25 Sep 2013 , 5:41pm
post #1 of 10

I made a cake with spoon ruffled buttercream (I actually don't know what the real name is for that effect so I made one up) because I was making a cake to test a new recipe so I thought I would practice the spoon ruffled buttercream. I used recycled buttercream (leftover buttercream from the freezer) and since the cake was just a practice one (and since I barely had enough bc for the sides of the cake) I didn't do a crumb coat. I tried a plastic spoon, a large metal spoon, and a small metal spoon. The plastic spoon was the worst, the large metal spoon was the second worst and the small metal spoon worked the best. The ruffly look I achieved was terrible! It was not at all what I had in mind. Am I doing something wrong? This is my first time trying this so tips and advice would be very appreciated!!

Here are some pics of what it turned out like

9 replies
BrandisBaked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BrandisBaked Posted 25 Sep 2013 , 5:59pm
post #2 of 10

ADid you rewhip your buttercream before using it?

FrostedMoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FrostedMoon Posted 25 Sep 2013 , 6:20pm
post #3 of 10

AIf you post a pic of what you want it to look like, I think you'll have a better chance of getting help on how to get the right look. Are you going for a rustic look?

miniflowercake Posted 25 Sep 2013 , 8:03pm
post #4 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandisBaked 

Did you rewhip your buttercream before using it?
No, well, it got stirred when I added food coloring, but that was just in a measuring cup. Would that be my problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrostedMoon 

If you post a pic of what you want it to look like, I think you'll have a better chance of getting help on how to get the right look. Are you going for a rustic look?