Few Questions About A Kitchen License In The Uk

Business By Zoescakes Updated 25 Sep 2013 , 12:39pm by Zoescakes

Zoescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Zoescakes Posted 25 Sep 2013 , 8:33am
post #1 of 5

Hi Newbie here.

Just have a few questions about starting a cake business at home.

Who do i contact to get a license?

What do i need to do to prepare for them coming to inspect my kitchen? like paperwork..or changing or adding anything in my kitchen?

Does it cost anything to get a kitchen license?

I live near Durham area in the UK if that makes any difference to the procedure.

Any help/advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

4 replies
lindseyjhills Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lindseyjhills Posted 25 Sep 2013 , 10:03am
post #2 of 5

AYou don't get a licence as such in the UK. You register your kitchen.

I can't legally give you professional business advice, but I can share my experience with you and you can take from that what you will.

I had to contact the environmental health department at my local council to notify them I wished to trade as a food business from home. I had to do this at least 28 days before I wanted to start trading.

I actually contacted them well before this to check that my kitchen met the required standard. My EHO was very helpful. They aren't there to catch people out, they are there to ensure the public are safe and they want you to prepare food safely. If you're lucky they may be able to send you a leaflet (or point you to a web page) that details what standard your kitchen needs to be.