Adding Color To Sugar Flowers

Decorating By AirSoSweet Updated 24 Sep 2013 , 1:09am by AirSoSweet

AirSoSweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AirSoSweet Posted 23 Sep 2013 , 3:21am
post #1 of 9

I'm making my first wedding cake for a friends sister and i'm still relatively new to cake decorating (the sister who ordered the cake knows this :) ) but the cake she wants is a 3 tier with cascading coral ombre sugar flowers.  So I've made the flowers (i know they can use much improving but i'm learning as i go so please be patient with me) but i'm not sure if i should try to add any color or shimmer or anything to them.  I realize at this point it will be hard to do since they are assembled, and she's not going for a truly "realistic" look to the cake - no leaves just bulbs.  Any suggestions would be so much appreciated! I hope you're able to see my uploaded image of the flowers - it's my first time posting so i'm not sure if i'm doing this right. I've also attached a link to the cake she used as a reference.

http://www.onewed.com/photos/show/romantic-3-tier-wedding-cake-with-peach-coral-blooms

8 replies
dawnybird Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dawnybird Posted 23 Sep 2013 , 3:30am
post #2 of 9

I think your flowers are gorgeous! Every bit as nice as the ones on the example cake photo, maybe even better. I guess you could always add luster dust or do some shading with petal dusts, but they seem nice enough as is. Just my opinion, for what it is worth.

morganchampagne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
morganchampagne Posted 23 Sep 2013 , 4:38am
post #3 of 9

AThe flowers are gorgeous!! You could add some petal dust to give it texture, but I rather like the ones you have!!!! So that's my only suggestion :)

Godot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Godot Posted 23 Sep 2013 , 6:38am
post #4 of 9