Lindt Ganache

Decorating By MustangMollie Updated 21 Sep 2013 , 10:38am by MustangMollie

MustangMollie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MustangMollie Posted 18 Sep 2013 , 2:59pm
post #1 of 12

So I'm a newbie at cake decorating, but I want to contribute however I can (and you folks have been so helpful and awesome!).

My son's 2nd birthday is on Saturday. My husband is allergic to all nuts so he can't eat most chocolate. He CAN eat Lindt though. I've been wanting to try making ganache for my son's birthday cake so I need to use Lindt. I prefer white chocolate and milk chocolate so I chose those two types over dark chocolate.

I used a 3:1 ratio for both the milk chocolate and the white chocolate. The cream has 35% fat. 

I heated the cream until I could see steam coming off of the cream, but it wasn't boiling. Then I removed from heat and mixed the chocolate in using a silicone mixing spoon. I then transferred the ganache into the the bowl that I'll leave it to set in overnight. I whipped it by hand with a whisk, then covered it with glad wrap. I'm off to bed now and am letting it sit out on the counter overnight. We'll see what the morning brings (fingers crossed!)

I think Lindt has a number of varieties of each type of chocolate, so here are the ones that I used:

This photo shows how small I chopped up the chocolate (the pink spoon is my teaspoon measuring spoon to give you an idea of scale).

My white chocolate ganache directly after mixing chocolate into heated cream. (Those aren't bits of chocolate, they're air bubbles.)

My milk chocolate ganache directly after mixing chocolate into heated cream. I'm worried about this one, I couldn't get all the tiny bumps out. I might have to mess with this more in the morning.

11 replies
Crazy-Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy-Gray Posted 18 Sep 2013 , 3:15pm
post #2 of 12