Getting Tired...want To Push Business, But How?

Business By gr8cakemaker Updated 20 Sep 2013 , 5:42pm by gr8cakemaker

gr8cakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gr8cakemaker Posted 17 Sep 2013 , 11:00pm
post #1 of 12

AHey Ya'll! Seeking advice here. I am a home-based cake decorator and I have been making cakes for almost 6 years now. About 90% of the cakes I make are celebration/birthday cakes and about 80% of them are Children's birthday cakes. I make cakes, cupcakes, cookies, and cake pops. Now I really love doing kids cakes, I find that's where I really shine. Lately though I have been feeling like I want to take my business further. I really don't enjoy doing wedding cakes, but the money is nice. I have been trying to come up with ideas to do something a bit different. One of my ideas is "cupcake boxes". Just a box of 4 cupcakes to reach those who don't necessarily have kids or need a big cake. Such flavors such as salted caramel etc. do you guys have any other ideas??? TIA

11 replies
Sassyzan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sassyzan Posted 17 Sep 2013 , 11:22pm
post #2 of 12

AIf kids' cakes are where you shine, then that's the place to expand your business. Market quirky wedding cakes, push into higher-end kids' parties for more $ per cake (like a wedding cake), quinceanera cakes, market dessert tables, multiple desserts for one party, themes, etc. IMO, you don't want to expand your business by adding smaller, more tedious products to your offerings.

howsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
howsweet Posted 18 Sep 2013 , 12:01am
post #3 of 12

Do you mean the money is nice because the cakes are typically bigger?

kikiandkyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kikiandkyle Posted 18 Sep 2013 , 12:15am
post #4 of 12