Satin Ice Vs Wilton Fondant

Decorating By mariprfl15 Updated 4 Oct 2013 , 1:52pm by leah_s

mariprfl15 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mariprfl15 Posted 16 Sep 2013 , 6:04am
post #1 of 15

AWhich do you like best? I've mostly used wilton because its easy to buy locally in small quantities but I can now buy Satin Ice locally too I'm undecided which is best...

14 replies
MomMakesCakesAZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MomMakesCakesAZ Posted 16 Sep 2013 , 6:33am
post #2 of 15

I would also like to know what everyone thinks :) I've tried and used Wilton here and there. MMF tastes much better, but I'm still a newbie and it seems to take forever to get it "just right" so that its not too tough and not too stretchy. I have heard/read online that pretty much everything is better than Wilton, but it's really hard to find anything else here. :(

cakealicious7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakealicious7 Posted 16 Sep 2013 , 1:16pm
post #3 of 15

AHi, from previous threads everybody raves about Fondarific. With Satin Ice people either love it or hate it, me personally i'm not too crazy about Fondarific but i'm going to give it another go :-/ Wilton is the least liked but I've read people like to mix it with other fondants, I guess you just have to experiment and see which suits you best individually-everybody has different tastes :-)

kkmcmahan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kkmcmahan Posted 16 Sep 2013 , 1:35pm
post #4 of 15

I have not tried Satin Ice as the reviews don't seem to be great.  I use Wilton when I don't have the time to make fondant and I don't think it's bad.  I've tried MMF and found it to be too soft so I tried MFF (Michelle Foster's Fondant) and really like it.  It's easier to make the MMF and still tastes pretty good.  The recipe is here on cc, give it a try!

RubinaD Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RubinaD Posted 16 Sep 2013 , 1:51pm
post #5 of 15