I'm Thinking About Starting A Business ...

Decorating By MustangMollie Updated 19 Sep 2013 , 12:06am by Toodee

MustangMollie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MustangMollie Posted 15 Sep 2013 , 3:13pm
post #1 of 39

So I'm new to cake decorating, but I absolutely love it. I'm a hobbyist and had no intention of going pro, but my husband suggested it as it would allow me the flexibility to stay home with our young children and  still work part time and bring in some money.

My first step is to check with the regulatory boards to make sure that I can in fact bake from home. Aside from that, I've been doing a lot of the Craftsy classes on cake decorating and I've been practicing a lot. I'm also going to go to Planet Cake for a course or two (I requested this as my birthday present before I ever thought of turning pro).

You guys have been there and done that. What would you have done differently? What are your favourite brands? What tools could you not live without?

This week I'm doing a colour study in fondant (I have a visual arts background). I'll share my results as soon as they're done.

Thanks in advance for your help :)

38 replies
sixinarow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sixinarow Posted 15 Sep 2013 , 5:43pm
post #2 of 39