Did I Charge Right?

Decorating By cakeventure Updated 4 Sep 2013 , 9:30pm by therealmrsriley

cakeventure Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeventure Posted 4 Sep 2013 , 6:01am
post #1 of 13

AHi all, this is my first post. I have to thank everyone here for providing invaluable information to all bakers out there. I am a hobby baker trying not to cut prices of professional bakers. Needed an opinion if I am on the right track. This my third fondant cake in my life. I charged $145 for it. Two tier chocolate ganache covered in fondant with strips/dots/bow/balls/ non edible stroller topper in fondant. It is 8" and 10".

[IMG]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3093455/width/200/height/400[/IMG]

12 replies
jennicake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jennicake Posted 4 Sep 2013 , 6:07am
post #2 of 13

I cant comment on the pricing, but just wanted to say that is a very cute cake!

cakeventure Posted 4 Sep 2013 , 6:09am
post #3 of 13

AThank you jennicake! Appreciate the encouragement.

Godot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Godot Posted 4 Sep 2013 , 7:28am
post #4 of 13

ACute cake. I would have charged 456 USD.

If you still have the cake try taking a photo more from the side instead of looking down at it. The angle doesn't do the cake justice and it's hard to see the pram.

Relznik Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Relznik Posted 4 Sep 2013 , 9:43am
post #5 of 13

Gorgeous cake!!! :grin:

I don't usually do two tiers in those sizes (personal preference is for a smaller top tier) but going on those sizes with the decoration and pram, I'd probably charge around £175 -  £200 , which is approx $275 - $315

cakeventure Posted 4 Sep 2013 , 3:56pm
post #6 of 13

AI agree I should have taken front shots- seems to me I really undercharged the cake!

cakeventure Posted 4 Sep 2013 , 4:01pm
post #7 of 13

AThank you!!:) I think I didn't charge a lot on the labor- I didn't feel confident as its my third cake. But I need to reevaluate my pricing strategy!