Need Help Making Silver Swags...

Decorating By SweetAngiesCake Updated 29 Aug 2013 , 2:43pm by smittyditty

SweetAngiesCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetAngiesCake Posted 28 Aug 2013 , 11:56pm
post #1 of 9

I really need help.  I have a wedding cake that I need to make that is 4 cakes/tiers high.  On the bottom cake and on the 3rd level cake I need to make barbed wire swags.  I have never done this before.  I think i need to make them early so they can set up and be spray painted silver.  But I don't know how to get all the swags the size they need to be.  I already made some, by putting them over an oatmeal box and they turned out way to tall for the layer they need to go on.  I don't to keep guessing on the item i place them over to dry whether or not they will be the correct size or not.  I really don't know how to do it. Please any advice would be very helpful.  I don't really want to make them the same day I bake/decorate the cake because of time restraints.  I would like to do as much as possible before hand. The 2 cakes the swags will be on will be on a 12 inch round cake and an 8 inch round cake, and yes, they will be stacked, so 2-12 inch cakes stacked and 2-8 inch cakes stacked.    

8 replies
smittyditty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smittyditty Posted 29 Aug 2013 , 12:37am
post #2 of 9

First off what are you making the swags out of?

Second when you say "spray paint" you mean "edible spray glitter" right????

Third I would use the cake pan that is the correlating size of tier and place them to dry around that. For visual reference and circumference.

smittyditty Posted 29 Aug 2013 , 12:45am
post #3 of 9